1. About

The Harvestworks New Works is a national program that offers American artists (US-residents) commissions of up to $5000 to make a new work in our Technology, Engineering, Art and Music (TEAM) lab. Each artist receives up to a $2000 artist fee with the balance of the award used for the TEAM lab activities. The artist works with a team comprised of Harvestworks’ Project Manager and consultants, technicians or instructors.

New works may include multiple channel audio or video installations, interactive performance systems, data visualization or projects involving hardware hacking, circuit bending or custom built interfaces, as well as projects that use the web. Up to 12 residencies will be selected (depending on project size and funding) along with up to five project scholarships. Priority will be given to the creative use of the Harvestworks’ production facility and the innovative use of sound and/or picture. Emerging artists and artists of color are encouraged to apply.

Special Initiatives: The Jerome Foundation Creative Residency Program will support emerging artists residing in New York City and/or Minnesota. The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts will support visual artists residencies. A limited number of Technology Lab Workspace Residencies will also be recommended by the panel.

Eligibility: The Artist in Residency (AIR) program is designed to assist individual working artists and their collaborators. Groups and ensembles are not eligible. Only new work proposals are accepted. Proposals that document an existing work are not eligible. Students who are currently enrolled in a university are not eligible. AIR recipients from the past 2 years are not eligible to apply this year. Applicants must reside in the U.S.

Presentation: Work produced in the program is premiered in the Harvestworks’ New York Electronic Art Festival or in our TEAM Presentation Lab. Residents are also featured on the Harvestworks website.

The New Works Residency Program is sponsored by the Jerome Foundation, The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, the Edwards Foundation Arts Fund, Aaron Copland Fund for Music, the Contemporary Art Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, the New York State Council on the Arts and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs.

2011 Residents: Angie Eng, Crystal Campbell, Haeyoung Kim, David Wightman, Phillip White, Rachel Morrison, Elizabeth Axtman, Mari Kimura, Susie Ibarra, Jimmy Joe Roche, Rebecca Warner and Laura Vitale. Educational scholarships were awarded to Heather Hart, Andrea DeFelice and David Antonio Cruz.

This is an online application, and there is no fee for using this service. You will upload all text based information through a web interface. Provide us with a link to your video and audio worksamples. We suggest Vimeo for video (http://www.vimeo.com) and Soundcloud for audio (http://soundcloud.com), since both are free and allow you to upload your worksamples for private viewing only. If you make your worksamples “private”, please do not forget to include your access codes in your application. To start your application, please visit this link: http://harvestworks.slideroom.com/

Questions can be directed to Hans Tammen at 212.431.1130 ext. 2 or by email at hanst@harvestworks.org


The deadline has passed – Residencies run from Jul 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013. Next deadline will be May 1, 2013


596 Broadway
New York, NY 10012

Website Address