CERN Nuclear Research Laboratory Artist-in-Residence Program Updates

  1. Admin
  2. September 21, 2012 9:38 pm

CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, is the world’s leading laboratory for particle physics. It has its headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland. 

Winner of the Prix Ars Electronica Collide@CERN award and CERN’s first artist in residence, Julius von Bismarck>, will present his work Versuch unter Kreisen at the closing lecture of his residency at CERN on 25 September. This follows von Bismarck’s two-month stay at CERN earlier in the year, where he paired up with physicist James Wells, followed by a month at Ars Electronica to conclude his residency.

“I am very excited to hear about the impact of Julius’s residency at CERN, and much looking forward hearing how the time spent with us has influenced his art,” said CERN Director General, Rolf Heuer. “His presentation will shed light on the creative process that happens when science and art collide.”

The lecture will be held at CERN’s landmark venue, The Globe of Science and Innovation, and be opened by Heuer along with Horst Hoertner, Director of Futurelab at Ars Electronica. The event begins at 7pm, with doors opening at 6.30pm and attendance is strictly by RSVP.

“The lecture marks the end of the residency, but by no means marks the end of Julius’s involvement with CERN,” said CERN’s Cultural Specialist, Ariane Koek. “He will join the fellowship of artists who win the residency, and will always be welcome here. It is certain that the many ideas that were seeded during his time at CERN will be seen and become art works for many years to come.”

In the meantime, the open call for artists working in the digital domain to apply for the second Prix Ars Electronica Collide@CERN has been extended until 3 October 2012. The winner will receive a fully funded residency at CERN and Ars Electronica to create new dimensions in their artistic practice by encounters with the world of science. This is the second year of the collaboration between CERN and Ars Electronica.

For more information visit CERN.

Online submissions should be made here.

Leave a Reply

4 × = four